Minnie Mouse Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes

Before they get frosted.

I hosted a baby shower for my sister-in-law last weekend. Since I started planning this baby shower, I knew I wanted to make vanilla cupcakes with pink frosting. Yes, she’s having a girl; hence, pink frosting.

I already have a great vanilla cupcake recipe, so my mission was to find a great recipe for the frosting. Because I don’t want to use food coloring, I wanted to make real strawberry butter cream frosting. I was on a mission. Since I am new to this cooking world, I don’t own any cookbooks yet. I searched the internet for a great strawberry frosting recipe, and finally found it on allecipes.com. You can check out the recipe here. A little tip: you need to put the frosting in the fridge for about 45 minutes to thicken it; otherwise, you’ll end up with runny strawberry smoothie.

Once I got all the cupcakes frosted with a pretty all natural pink frosting, I decorated them with edible sugar candy bows that I picked up from Michael’s and mini Oreos to make them look like Minnie Mouse.

Image

Frosted!

Don’t they look cute and delicious? The frosting was a hit at the party. Everyone asked if we ordered the cupcakes from a bakery, even though some of my cupcakes had frosting dripping on the side. Total homemade style. I’ll definitely be making this frosting again and it’s going in my “recipe book” aka bookmarked on my Safari browser.

Leave a Reply

